Virtual School Meanderings

January 4, 2013

iNACOL 10 Weeks of Activities for Better Blogging: Week 10 – Putting It All Together

The Week 10 or Final Activity – at least until Week 8 – Thought Leaders and Bloggers gets added – for the 10 Weeks of Activities for Better Blogging is entitled “Putting It All Together.”  Essentially, it is a reflective task, asking us to look at the volume of our blogging and ask the following questions:

  • Which blogpost had the most views or comments?
  • Which blogpost did you most enjoy writing? Why was this the most enjoyable one?
  • Which blogpost did you feel best represents your voice for online and blended learning and why?
  • Now, can you identify what it was that caused you write the above blogposts?
  • How much time did you spend writing each blogpost?

So, let’s take a look, shall we…

Which blogpost had the most views or comments?

The three blog entries that have had the most views (at least since moving to the WordPress platform) are :

As for the most comments, that is a bit more problematic to figure out as the free WordPress only tells me the most popular from the last 1000 comments and trackbacks.  However, based on my own knowledge of my statistics, I’d say that these two are probably close to the top:

The second one had so much interaction because it was part of a course that I was teaching on blogging in education for Boise State University.

Which blogpost did you most enjoy writing? Why was this the most enjoyable one?

This is actually part of an unofficial series that I worked on about a year ago.  The spark for the series actually came from an entry I wrote back in July 2010 entitled Worst Online Learning Law in America? Really??  Over a year later, I posted these five entries over a month one period:

These entries were fun for me because it was the first time on my blog that I really began to intersect my current passion for K-12 online learning and the research that I do in this field, with my former life as a political science major and professional political operative.

Which blogpost did you feel best represents your voice for online and blended learning and why?

In all honesty, I’d have to say the same five posts that I listed for the previous question.  Up until this point in time, while I had started to gain a reputation for being a critique of the dominant narrative in the K-12 online learning community (at least from the neo-liberal, cyber charter supporting, professional association folks), I had not really defined the specific ideological boundaries that overlay our field.  As a progressive voice in the field of K-12 online learning, these five posts really outlined the lay of the land and put myself squarely in the progressive camp.

Now, can you identify what it was that caused you write the above blogposts?

In terms of the ones that represent me the best and the ones I enjoyed the most, it was a desire to meld together some ideas that had been percolating in my mind for some time.  I had been seeing these connections between my political science/social studies education life and my K-12 online learning life.  I just needed to give those connections a voice and by able to lay it out for everyone to see and understand.

As for the most viewed and commented on entries, it was simply:

Can’t be much more honest than that…

How much time did you spend writing each blogpost?

Here are the best estimates that I can provide:

Again, these are best guesses, as the most recent of these was the one for the BSU course this past summer and all of the others are one or more years older.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.