Virtual School Meanderings

July 12, 2017

EDTECH537 – Discussion Entry: Longevity of Barbour & Reeves (2009)

On Monday, in my Week 3 entry, I indicated that today I would post a discussion entry to model for my EDTECH597 students.

So, yesterday I posted a notice that Barbour, M. K., & Reeves, T. C. (2009). The Reality Of Virtual Schools: A… Was Your Top Paper Last Week.  It was a weekly notice that I receive from Academia.edu, which tells me some of my own personal statistics and then provides me with the most downloaded or accessed paper that I have on my profile from the last week.  Interestingly, with the exception of weeks where I post something new – and that new item becomes the”top paper” – almost every other week for the last year, this eight year old literature review that I wrote with Tom Reeves that was actually part of my dissertation is the top paper on my profile.  While I have a few theories on why this may be, I’d like to get the opinions of other academic colleagues – as well as graduate students…

Why does eight year old Barbour & Reeves (2009) continue to be the “top paper” from my full record of scholarship?

2 Comments »

  1. After reading the paper I have a few possible reasons why it continues to be your “top paper” nine after it was written. The biggest reason I believe this paper continues to be popular is the overall theme. The paper provides solid descriptions of what a virtual school actually is and then uses existing literature to answer five essential questions that many students or other researchers would undoubtedly find useful for their own papers. The “Nature of virtual schooling and virtual school students” section alone provides readers with a plethora of ideas about the categories of virtual schools as well as the differences between synchronous and asynchronous delivery of instruction.

    Comment by ryanbcolley — July 15, 2017 @ 5:33 pm | Reply

    • I don’t disagree with your sentiments. I still do find it odd because the tools and technologies have changed so much over the past decade (and what they allow us to do now), and there has just been so much more research than there was back then. So it does surprise me a bit.

      BTW, thanks for contributing Ryan. When I alluded to the fact that I had some ideas of why this situation existed, your thought were not ones that I had anticipated. So it is great to get additional perspectives.

      Comment by Michael Barbour — July 16, 2017 @ 7:39 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

