Virtual School Meanderings

April 3, 2017

Personalized Learning Conference Suggestions

So late last week a colleague of mine asked:

In your opinion, what are the best conferences for K-12 personalized learning?

My response was:

Hmmm…  When I first read this my initial thought was to say no. But I guess the more realistic answer is probably it depends on how you perceive best.

The difficulty is that within the US context personalized learning has really gotten tied into the neo-liberal movement to replace teachers, or at least highly qualified teachers, with technology. With this in mind, probably the conference that most focused upon personalized learning and competency-based education is the International Association for K-12 Online Learning.  However, as you probably get from monitoring my blog, I don’t think that much of iNACOL as a research-based or research-informed organization, and I often refer to them as the AARP for corporate online learning providers.

Beyond iNACOL, there weren’t any conferences with a specific focus on personalized learning. I do know that the annual ISTE conference has a fair number of presentations related to personalized learning, in particular sessions from teachers where they are using specific tools to undertake personalized learning – even if they don’t use that terminology or, for that matter, even know that they are doing personalized learning.
Similarly, I asked a couple of my colleagues that I saw online via Google Hangouts or Skype, they actually mentioned the large CUE conference in Palm Springs.
Beyond that, I can’t say that I’m aware of any research based conferences that I have taken a specific interest in or that I’ve seen feature a lot of sessions on personalized learning.
At the end of the message, I indicated that I would post the query on my blog today and see if any other folks have specific recommendations of places they might have encountered a focus on personalized learning.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

