Virtual School Meanderings

June 27, 2016

EDTECH537 – Introductory Entry

One of the activities for Week 1 in my EDTECH537 – Blogging In The Classroom was for students to introduce themselves and talk about why they wanted to take this course. As I am hoping to model each of the activities I ask of the students, I wanted to post an entry that introduced myself as the instructor and explained why I wanted to create this course.

I try to write one of these each time I offer the course, and given that this is the sixth time I have taught Blogging in the Classroom for Boise State University I suspect my introduction is getting a bit practice.  But anyway…

For those folks that don’t know me, my name is Michael Barbour and I’m the Director of Doctoral Studies for the Isabelle Farrington College of Education and an Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership at Sacred Heart University.  Prior to August 2013, I was an Assistant Professor of Instructional Technology/Educational Evaluation and Research at Wayne State University – and this summer an adjunct professor for the Department of Educational Technology at Boise State University (and this is my sixth summer in this role).  The courses I teach focus on the use of data in school leadership and research methods.  My research interests focus on the use of K-12 online learning, particularly for students in rural jurisdictions. I’m originally from Newfoundland and Labrador, which is quite important to me.

In 2011, I was asked to design a course in blogging in the classroom for Boise State University. The reason I accepted the BSU suggestion stemmed from my own participation in previous blogging initiatives. Over the past couple of years, I have participated in 30 Days to Being a Better Blogger that Steve Dembo ran, I participated in the 31 Days to Build a Better Blog journey by ProBlogger Blog Tips, and I also participated in 7 Days to a Better EduBlog by Change Agency.  This past year, I began the 30-day open scholarship challenge from Impact Story – but didn’t get that far (as you can see from the  tag, and maybe I’ll use this course as a way to try and progress in my completion of that activity).  Anyway…

I feel like I’ve gotten a lot out of these experiences, and I was wondering if I could take these experiences – along with my nine or ten years of blogging (note that for the record it has been eleven years that I have been blogging, as I started in March 2005, which means it was about five when I first created this course) – and turn them into a graduate level class that students would find useful. The course itself is a combination of “being a better blogger” activities and exploring various models of incorporating blogging into the classroom. It worked out pretty well the past four summers (although only a few of the students continued blogging after the course concluded – at least in the same space they had blogged during the course), so I’m looking forward to seeing how it all turns out this summer.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Introductory Entry […]

    Pingback by EDTECH537 – End Of Course | Virtual School Meanderings — August 15, 2016 @ 10:01 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

