Virtual School Meanderings

July 15, 2010

Blog Carnival: Virtual Schooling – July 15, 2010 (Final Issue)

carnivalOnly 1 entry submitted this month (and it was not relevant to this Blog Carnival – not even tenuously). As such, I have decided to discontinue the Blog Carnival feature.

As this will be the last time I post the Blog Carnival feature, here are the previous issues:

In looking at the statistics, I see only 8 thematic items and 39 items generally related to online learning OR K-12 education – and the first month when I also posted 10 items that had nothing to do with K-12 or online learning.  This is not to mention that there was generally ten to twenty times the blog entries submitted as the number of general items posted, for example:

I wish I had actually kept that statistic and posted in the entries (i.e., the number of irrelevant blog entries submitted to each Blog Carnival).

As some of you may recall, I began this feature as a part of the task for Day 18 of the 30 Days to Being a Better Blogger series that Steve Dembo did (see Day Eighteen – Thirty Days To A Better Blog).  I have to be honest and say that minus the March 2009 Edition, the nineteen month journey resulted in 86 entries (counting calls and actual editions) – but it wasn’t that rewarding.  The only really good entries that came out of it were Scott McLeod’s The Iowa series – Wrap-up posted at Dangerously Irrelevant, which I would have known about anyway because I follow his blog. Although that month I was alerted to the Virtual Learning Academy Teachers blog. However, there isn’t a single other entry that I posted that I would have clicked on if I hadn’t been trying to determine if it was relevant for the Blog Carnival or not.

Maybe it is because there are so few people blogging about K-12 online learning.  Granted, if that were true my Blogging About Virtual Schooling entries would be pretty empty too.  However, those entries are always full of entries – and that’s just from the ~300 blogs I follow in my RSS reader.  Anyway, I guess that is it for this feature.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Educational Services Center, Virtual Learning Academy So, as I was reviewing the content for the Blog Carnival: Virtual Schooling – July 15, 2010 (Final Issue) this past week, I was reminding of a blog that for some reason I hadn’t subscribed to […]

    Pingback by New Virtual Schooling Blogger – Virtual Learning Academy Teacher Blog « Virtual School Meanderings — July 18, 2010 @ 12:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

