Virtual School Meanderings

July 22, 2010

Day 4 – 7 Days To A Better EduBlog

Stephanie posted the fourth task in her 7 Days to a Better EduBlog mini-course at:

7 Days – Day 4: Enhancing, Extending, and Engaging with Embedded Media

Essentially, the task is to “create and publish a post that includes one embedded piece of media… [and] try to engage your audience by including a discussion question after you have embedded the media.”

This is an easy one for me to discuss in general terms because I’m not sure if I have ever done this.  I believe part of the reason is because most of the videos that I have come across related to K-12 online learning fall into one of three categories: news clips about K-12 online learning, videos posted by K-12 online learning programs for explanatory or promotional purposes, and videos from researchers.  Now I have posted entries in the past that highlight videos from all of these categories, but I don’t think I’ve ever asked folks to comment on them.

News Clips about K-12 Online Learning

In all honesty, I would have expected that I would have been able to find more examples from this category.  One of the reasons for this is because a year or so ago when I was looking for more videos to incorporate into this course I teach that focused on K-12 online learning, most of the videos I was able to find on YouTube were news clips from television stations (granted, often posted by various K-12 online learning programs).  However, when I search on this blog there are very few that fall into this category.

Recent examples I can find from this category include:

Videos Posted by K-12 Online Learning Programs for Explanatory or Promotional Purposes

This one seems to be the most common one – by far.  I believe that is largely due to the efforts of Darren at Teaching and Developing Online (who is responsible for two out of every three entries that have the word video in it, or so it seems).  But there are a selection of entries from other, usually US-based, programs.

Recent examples I can find from this category include:

Videos from Researchers

I would have expected this one to come closer to rivaling the previous category for the most posted, given my background in K-12 online learning research means that these are the circles I interact in the most. However, that is not the case – as it appears beyond Cathy Cavanaugh and Elizabeth Murphy, not many academics post videos.

Recent examples I can find from this category include:

Finally, I thought I should mention one example of a video that didn’t really fit into one of the three categories above:

Other Media

You know it is kind of funny because I have come to a little realization as I have been typing this entry.  Stephanie’s task simply mentioned media, but I immediately jumped to videos.  And there are other media – Stephanie specifically names “ideo, slideshow, voicethread, prezi”, among others.  Interestingly enough, a search of my blog on the terms slideshow, voicethread and prezi reveal no entries that have embedded any of those forms of media.  Using the terms presentation, I was able to find some examples.

Recent examples I can find from this category include:

Where to Go from Here???

Well, looking at this quick examination I see two things I need to do more of:

  1. When I do post videos or other media content, provide some personal reflections and invite others to do the same.
  2. Try to post more video and, particularly, more non-video media content.

Someone may want to remind me about this a month or two from now to see how I am doing.  In the meantime, the second entry tomorrow (i.e., after the regular “Friday Funnies”) will be a video that provides some opinion/reflection on my part and then invites others to comment.

Notice the use of bolding, headings and bullets – all trying to do the things Stephanie suggested in the Day 1 – 7 Days To A Better EduBlog task. :)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,537 other followers

